Welcome Back A Foolish Man Reissue

Bobby Jones

  • Label: Rocafort Records
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Northern Soul, Soul, Soul Funk
  • Format: 7 inch
  • Catalogue number: ROC023

Availability: In stock


Conforming to the usual high standards we've come to expect, Rocafort Records have got their hands on another sublime soul 7inch. Originally released in 1970 on the amusingly named Kack label, soulman Bobby Jones assures us that there's nothing but the smell of sweet soul music happening here.

Written and produced by well-known Chicago music veteran, Maurice Lee Simpkins, "Welcome Back A Foolish Man" does everything an early 70s mid-tempo two-stepper should. Urgent, pleading lyrics telling of unspeakable heartache, sweeping strings, twangy guitars, heavenly backing vocals that lift everything towards the Gods. All solidly crowned by the raw, expressive vocal talent of Bobby Jones – a consistantly worthy bluesy/soul singer who never really got the recognition he deserved.

Interesting to note that both "Welcome Back A Foolish Man" and the similarly veined B side, "Lovin' Hard, Livin' Good" were sung by soul siren Ruby Andrews a few years prior but with different lyrics, different composers and label. A mystery worth solving for any of you musos out there !

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. 'Nard


    Bernard Wright

    7 inch £8.99

  2. Party After Hours T Shirt
  3. Nasty Man

    Nasty Man

    Camille Howard

    7 inch £8.99

  4. By My Side

    By My Side

    Pure Pleasure

    7 inch £8.99

  5. Gay Feet Every Night

    Gay Feet Every Night

    Various Artists

    7 inch £8.99

  6. Spooktober Edits

    Spooktober Edits

    Scrimshire Edits

    7 inch £8.99

Welcome Back A Foolish Man



Welcome Back a Foolish Man b/w Lovin' Hard, Livin' Good