Music of my Heart Reissue

John Heartsman & Circles

  • Label: Jazzman
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: Funk, Jazz Funk, Rare Grooves, Soul, Soul Funk, Soul Jazz
  • Format: CD
  • Catalogue number: JMANCD030

Availability: In stock


An unbelievably rare private press album tha's chock full of the good - all kinds of funky femme soul, cool n' groovy organ/flute/guitar jazz and a good ol' dose of the blues! It's the fourth installment in our HOLY GRAIL series, and we're proud to present Sacramento multi-instrumentalist Johnny Heartsman's hopelessly obscure self-pressed double LP of top grade funky jazz & soul from 1977, carefully repressed on CD and vinyl (limited to 1000 vinyl copies only). Now get this - the original LP has recently hit over $5000 (yes, over five thousand US dollars!) - TWICE - at online auction! Now it's available in its original format with original artwork for a song, but be quick - as ALL of our previous releases in this series' have all sold out - FAST!!!

John Heartsman is known as the guy who played on a thousand R&B hits. From the mid '50s to the late '60s he recorded countless sessions, backing up the likes of Jimmy McCracklin, Lowell Fulson, Sugar Pie DeSanto, and many, many more. Then is the early '70s, exhausted from constant touring and seedy late night gigs, he took up a low-key residency at a small Sacramento jazz club. Here, Heartsman finally got to do his OWN thing. And his thing went down so well with the local audience that he decided to record some material and offer an LP for sale. The album was quickly snapped up by the Basin St West regulars, and very few escaped the local area. A couple of decades later, and sadly a little while after Heartsman himself had passed away, a couple of copies surfaced on the funk collectors scene in LA and whispers and rumours of a set of sustained quality funky soul and jazz began circulating slowly. Very few copies have appeared since, making the LP almost as legendary as the long and hidden career of the man himself...

And here it is! The full double LP, never before reissued and seldom before heard, in its original design. The CD contains extensive notes, pictures and background history on the LP and John Heartsman himself.

Music of my Heart



1 The Thrill Is Gone
2 A Dat In The Life Of A Fool
3 Every Day I Have The Blues
4 Talking About My Baby
5 You Are The Music Of My Heart
6 Who Do You Love
7 Silky Pete
8 Mr Magic
9 Ontario Serenade
10 The Road To Nowhere
11 Up From Down
12 Dream A Dream
13 If We Can't Be Lovers (Can't We Be Friends)
14 Silky Pete (part II)
15 Summer