More Ethiopian Soul & Groove: Ethiopian Urban Modern Music Vol 3 Reissue

Various Artists

  • Label: Heavenly Sweetness
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Afro, Afro Funk, Exotica, Jazz, Soul Jazz, World
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: HS094

Availability: In stock


It was France's l'Arome Productions that had first reissued this spectacular selection of Ethiopian soul and funk back in 2009 but, since then, this particular compilation has turned into something of a cult-classic within the digging world, and it has been repressed by Heavenly Sweetness on three different occasions. None of this is in the least bit surprising given just how special the sounds on here truly are, and if you're a fan of Mulatu then this will hit the spot big time! Moreover, tunes by the likes of Samuel Belay, Mahmoud Ahmed - who has appeared on Mississippi's reissue schedule - and Girma Beyene go much further than the usual dosage of far-out funk, leading us to a tense, dimly lit scenario that is both hypnotic and totally different from anything else. Highly recommended, a timeless slice of history.

More Ethiopian Soul & Groove: Ethiopian Urban Modern Music Vol 3



Side 1
1.    Girma Beyene - "Ene Negn Bay Manesh" (4:02)
2.    Seyoum Gebreyes & Wallias Band - "Metch Ene Terf Feleghu" (2:21)
3.    Hirut Beqele - "Ewnetegna Feqer" (3:16)
4.    Samuel Belay - "Qeresh Endewaza" (3:18)
5.    Girma Beyene - "Yebeqagnal" (3:31)
Side 2
1.    Mahmoud Ahmed - "Lomiwen Teqebeletch" (3:25)
2.    Muluqen Mellesse - "Djemeregne" (7:30)
3.    Asselefetch Ashine & Getenesh Kebret - "Metche New" (3:33)
4.    Getatchew Mekurya - "Gedamay" (3:52)