Punkero Sonidero Reissue


  • Label: Soundway
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: Afro, Exotica, Latin, Tropical, World
  • Format: 7 inch
  • Catalogue number: SNDW7018

Availability: In stock


The first single from Frente Cumbeiro’s Mario Galeano and Will ‘Quantic’ Holland’s new all-star Colombian band Ondatrópica gets served up here as a DJ friendly 7”.

Ondatrópica brings together an all-star cast representing both the classic and modern styles of la musica Colombiana and features legendary figures (Fruko, Anibal Velasquez, Wilson Viveros, Michi Sarmiento to name a few) from Colombia’s rich musical past alongside younger Colombian musicians including members of both Mario’s band Frente Cumbeiro and Quantic’s Combo Barbaro as well as some specially invited guests.

‘Punkero Sonidero’ is a raw, instrumental tune and with its analog synth bass and four-to-the-floor feel is the band’s salute to the cumbiadiaspora worldwide. It was one of the first tracks that the group recorded after they entered the famous Discos Fuentes studios in Medellín and so it seems fitting that it should be the first track to get cut to vinyl.

‘I Ron Man’ is on the flip-side, a drunken take on Black Sabbath’s classic ‘Iron Man’ with a tongue-in-cheek title – ‘Ron’ being ‘Rum’ in Spanish. The track features Michi Sarmiento, the big-hitting saxophonist of the golden age of Colombian music who, along with Will ‘Quantic’ Holland and Mario Galeano, takes a toast of rum (ron) and whisky to celebrate the world’s common interest of inebriation.

The 7” vinyl comes with a free MP3 download of the release.

Punkero Sonidero



Punkero Sonidero b/w I Ron Man