Superjock Reissue

Reuben Bell

  • Label: Tramp
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Funk, Soul, Soul Funk
  • Format: 7 inch
  • Catalogue number: TR232

Availability: Out of stock


Still living in his birthplace of Shreveport, Louisiana, Reuben Bell began singing in local clubs. He first recorded for the local Murco label in 1967 before moving to the Silver Fox and House of Orange labels. In 1975 he released his first 45rpm single for Alarm Records ("Superjock" b/w "I Still Have To Say Goodbye") which was produced by Wardell Quezergue. Neither side made any noise back then but 24 years later "Superjock" was included in DJ Shadow & Cut Chemist's Brainfreeze mix.

Since then it has become a classic and it has been played constantly by hip hop and funk djs all around the world. It has appeared on a handful of (mainly bootleg) compilations over the years so we are proud to present the long-overdue, fully licensed re-issue on its original format.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. I Got So Much Trouble In My Mind

    I Got So Much Trouble In My Mind

    Sir Joe Quarterman and The Free Soul

    7 inch £8.99

  2. Cold Game

    Cold Game

    Myron & E with The Soul Investigators

    7 inch £8.99

  3. Give The People What They  Want

    Give The People What They Want

    Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings

    7 inch £8.99

  4. Call It What You Want / The Oligarch
  5. More Today Than Yesterday / Baby What I Mean
  6. Baby Please Don't Go / Live My Life

    Baby Please Don't Go / Live My Life

    Rose Mitchell

    7 inch £8.99




Superjock b/w Making Love to Funky Music