Soul Of A Woman

Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings

  • Label: Daptone
  • Origin: United States
  • Genres: Funk, Sister Funk, Soul, Soul Funk
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: DAP050LPL

Availability: In stock


Before she passed away last year, Sharon Jones spent a couple of months recording what would become her final album with the Dap Kings. Released posthumously, Soul of a Woman is every bit as good as her previous collaborations with Bosco Mann's revivalist soul and funk band. Naturally, Jones death has added extra poignancy to the album's more melancholic moments (see "Just Give Me Your Time" and "Pass Me By" and "When I Saw Your Face"), but these sorrowful outings are contrasted by a string of rousing soul and funk anthems in her confident and effortlessly soulful style. With Mann and the rest of the Dap Kings excelling themselves in a bid to guarantee Jones' legacy, Soul of a Woman may well be Jones single finest album. It's certainly a fitting send off for one of soul's finest voices.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. We're Gonna Make It

    We're Gonna Make It

    New World / Crystal Clear

    LP £17.99

  2. Jugue


    Johnny Amelio

    LP £17.99

  3. Rock And Other Four Letter Words

    Rock And Other Four Letter Words

    J Marks And Shipen Lebzelter

    LP £17.99

  4. The Budos Band

    The Budos Band

    The Budos Band

    LP £17.99

  5. Coffy


    Roy Ayers

    LP £17.99

  6. Come into Knowledge

    Come into Knowledge


    LP £17.99

Soul Of A Woman



Side 1
1. "Matter Of Time" (3:20)
2. "Sail On!" (2:56)
3. "Just Give Me Your Time" (2:28)
4. "Come & Be A Winner" (2:53)
5. "Rumors" (2:29)
6. "Pass Me By" (3:15)

Side 2
1. "Searching For A New Day" (3:11)
2. "These Tears (No Longer For You)" (3:31)
3. "When I Saw Your Face" (3:19)
4. "Girl! (You Got To Forgive Him)" (4:06)
5. "Call On God" (3:32)