Spellcheck EP

Spellbinder Project

  • Label: Big Shanty
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: Funk Rock, Funky Jazz, Psychedelia, Rock
  • Format: 12 inch
  • Catalogue number: BS001V

Availability: In stock


Having been endorsed by Andrew Weatherall on his June 2017 NTS radio show, the band were inspired to release this four-track vinyl EP on their own label Big Shanty Records.

A heady mix of influences colour The Spellbinder Project sound, with elements of jazz, post punk, psych and funk in the blend. These tracks were produced by Malcom Catto, head instigator of the Heliocentrics and collaborator with DJ Shadow, together with Mike Burnham, who has worked extensively with Little Barrie.

The core band of Sean Pereira Summers (guitar), Michael Levison (bass) and Michael Rathbone (drums) are joined live by Lascelle Gordon from Vibration Black Finger on percussion and Chris Williams from Led Bib on saxophone.

Spellcheck EP



Side 1
1. "Dark Is The Light"
2. "Jaywalk"

Side 2
1. "Switchblade"
2. "LU 13"