Mary Jane

Breakdown Brass

Mary Jane

  • Label: Mix To Music
  • Catalogue number: MM006BLACK
  • Format: 7 inch
  • Genres: Afro Funk, Bboy Breaks, Beats, Beats Dancefloor, Funk, Instrumental
  • Origin: United States

Availability: Out of stock



  1. Mary Jane
  2. The Horseman

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Brooklyn's Breakdown Brass have returned with a monstrous cover of the Rick James classic 'Mary Jane', a follow-up to their smash debut 45 'Monmouth b/w Next Episode' (Kept Records). The track blends their trademark heavy sound with the strolling soul vibe of the original. B-side 'The Horseman' blends heavy Afro-Funk vibes with the sizzle of Balkan brass-band music, featuring razor-sharp horn licks and a powerful sousaphone bassline. It has received rave reviews and airplay from NPR, BBC, and more. The members of Breakdown Brass stay busy - touring and recording with Ikebe Shakedown, Antibalas, Lee Fields, Sharon Jones, Charles Bradley, Monophonics and many others. Led by Nadav Nirenberg on trombone, their unique combination of heavy Afro-Funk with the sizzle of Balkan Brass has caught the eye of Gilles Peterson, NPR, BBC and more. Produced and Arranged by Nadav Nirenberg.