California Funk


California Funk

  • Label: Jazzman
  • Catalogue number: JMANCD033
  • Format: CD
  • Genres: Funk, Rare Grooves, Soul Funk
  • Origin: United Kingdom

Availability: In stock



1 Water Color - "All Bundled Into One"
2 Arthur Monday - "What Goes Around Comes Around"
3 Leon Gardner - "Farm Song"
4 Chucky Thurmon - "Turn It Over"
5 Delores Ealy & The Kenyattas - "Honeydripper"
6 Ray Frazier & The Shades Of Madness - "I Who Have Nothing (Am Somebody)"
7 Enrique Olivarez Y Los Vampiros - "Arriba Tipo"
8 The 4th Coming - "Cruising Down Sunset"
9 King Soloman - "Politician Rag"
10 JGD & The New Breed - "North Richmond Breakaway"
11 LA Bare Faxx - "Super Cool Brother"
12 Apple & The Three Oranges - "Curse Upon The World"
13 Lil Lavair & The Fabulous Jades - "Cold Heat"
14 Rhon Silva - "Get It Right"
15 Billy Larkin & The Delegates - "Funky Fire"
16 California Gold Notes - "WB 302"
17 John Heartsman & Circles - "Talking About My Baby"
18 Enrique Olivarez Y Los Vampiros - "Al's Place"
19 Mr Clean & The Soul Inc - "What's Going On"
20 The Edwards Generation - "Smokin' Tidbits"
21 Winter - "Bones"

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


At last! After several years of extensive work and painstaking research the latest in our explorations into regional US funk obscurities is finally here. Has the wait for California Funk been worth it? Well, let's see what we have: 21 of the finest, rarest and most desirable funk recordings from the Sunshine state, put together for the first time with the personal blessing of each and every artist represented herein - shoddy bootleg this is not! Both the LP and CD contain in-depth sleeve notes detailing the history of funk and R&B in California and the social conditions which led to the funk explosion of the late '60s. In addition there are thoroughly researched notes for every individual track, revealing for the first time the hidden stories behind such revered and enigmatic artists as Leon Gardner, Arthur Monday and Delores Ealy. The double LP is presented on two pieces of 180g virgin vinyl, lavishly housed in a double gatefold sleeve with full colour inners, label scans and extensive liner notes featuring many previously unseen photos of the bands and musicians involved. The CD houses the same in a 24 page colour booklet.

Whereas the musical profiles of cities such as Detroit and New Orleans are well established and much celebrated, the vast cities of Los Angeles and the San Francisco Bay Area have been mostly skimmed over and not given nearly enough attention. The black music from California of the '60s and '70s is especially under-appreciated, seemingly unable to stamp its own musical identity on the world.

Yet during this time, many artists were busily plying their trade at a grass roots level in LA and the Bay, releasing 45s literally by hand or through small independents. Today many of those very 45s fetch hundreds and sometimes thousands of pounds at online auction with lovers of real soul and funk desperate to get hold of them. Following on from our previous funk collections of Texas, Florida, the Midwest and the Carolinas, we applied ourselves to what proved to be our most ambitious and far-reaching project yet - to source and compile the best vintage funk that California had to offer. From the rugged street funk of Arthur Monday to the Latino flavours of Enrique Olivarez, from the soulful jazz grooves of blues legend Johnny Heartsman to the aggressive politicising of King Solomon, there is real diversity on offer – these aren't mere JB sound-a-likes but talented individuals who brought their own voice to the funk sound.

- 21 of the rarest, hardest and most coveted funk sounds from California, recorded 1968-77
- 24 page CD booklet with photographs, label scans and liner notes from our own original research and interviews
- RARE and FINE music reissued only with Jazzman - all because WE DIG DEEPER!