Life Stories: Highlife & Afrobeat Classics 1973-1980

Ebo Taylor

Life Stories: Highlife & Afrobeat Classics 1973-1980

  • Label: Strut
  • Catalogue number: STRUT072LP
  • Format: 2 x LP
  • Genres: Afro, Afro Funk, Afro Rock, Funk, Funky Jazz, Soul Funk, Soul Jazz, Tropical, World
  • Origin: United Kingdom

Availability: Out of stock



Side 1
1.    "Heaven" (6:03)
2.    "Atwer Abroba" (8:15)
3.    Ebo Taylor & Uhuru-Yenzu - "What Is Life" (4:41)
Side 2
1.    Apagya Showband - "Tamfo Nyi Ekyir" (3:58)
2.    "Peace On Earth" (7:47)
3.    Ebo Taylor & Uhuru-Yenzu - "Victory" (4:19)
4.    Asasse Ase - "Ohiani Sua Efir" (4:02)
Side 3
1.    "Aba Yaa" (15:02)
2.    "Ohye Atar Gyan" (6:07)
Side 4
1.    Ebo Taylor & Uhuru-Yenzu - "Love & Death" (8:13)
2.    Ebo Taylor & The Pelikans - "Egya Edu" (6:53)
3.    Pat Thomas & Ebo Taylor - "Ene Nyame Nam A Mensuro" (6:16)

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Following his recent studio album with Afrobeat Academy, 'Love And Death', his first international release, Ghanaian highlife guitar legend Ebo Taylor teams up again with Strut for a long overdue definitive compilation of his seminal 1970s recordings, 'Life Stories'.
This compilation revisits this heyday of Taylor's work, focusing on his solo albums and some of his lesser known side projects including the dynamite Apagya Show Band and short-lived Taylor-led combos Assase Ase, Super Sounds Namba and The Pelikans. The selection also touches on his writing and production work for C.K. Mann and a collaboration recording with fellow member of early ‘70s nightclub band Blue Monks, Pat Thomas.