Michel Sardaby


  • Label: World Seven
  • Catalogue number: WSVN003
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Funky Jazz, Instrumental, Jazz, Jazz Fusion, Soul Jazz
  • Origin: Europe



Side 1
1. "Gail"
2. "Spindrift"
3. "Ten Kisses Short As One"
4. "Welcome New Warmth"

Side 2
1. "Help Me Belong Here"
2. "Song For My Children"
3. "One Long As Twenty"
4. "Sambando Nas Ondas"

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


World Seven is a record label brought to you by the Paris & London based Africa Seven crew ( We have joined forces with a collective of label heads, music freaks & crusty crate diggers to expand our musical quest - to search the world for sounds, vibes & scenes which cross musical genres and geographical borders. 

Michel Sardaby was born in Fort de France, Martinique in the French West Indies in 1935. As a child he was surrounded by music in his dad's brasserie. He became a child prodigy on the piano and went on to study art at the Boulle School in Paris before deciding to concentrate on a career as a jazz pianist. Throughout the 60's, he played piano with blues musicians like Sonny Boy Williamson and T-Bone Walker, at the same time beginning to release more jazz-focused solo albums.

The record was recorded in New York in 1975 and the personnel on record is formidable. Billy Hart (McCoy Tyner alumni) is on drums, Richard Davis on bass and Leopold Flemming on Percussion. Michel himself is on keys and delivers a Rhodes master class. Features the classic funky jazz cut 'Welcome New Warmth' as championed by Gilles Peterson over many years.

The album itself has been remastered specially for vinyl and pressed (at the request of Michel himself) on heavy weight vinyl.