African Rhythms 1970-1982

Oneness of Juju

African Rhythms 1970-1982

  • Label: Strut
  • Catalogue number: STRUT233LP
  • Format: 3 x LP
  • Genres: Afro, Afro Disco, Afro Funk, Afro Rock, Disco, Funk, Funky Jazz, Jazz Funk, Rare Grooves, Soul Funk, World
  • Origin: United Kingdom

Availability: Out of stock



  1. Oneness Of Juju - African Rhythms (album version)
  2. Oneness Of Juju - Follow Me
  3. Oneness Of Juju - Nooky
  4. Oneness Of Juju - River Luv Rite
  5. Roach Om - No Name #3/Love Is/My N*Gg*R & Me
  6. Juju - Nairobi/Chants
  7. Oneness Of Juju - Chants/Don't Give Up
  8. Oneness Of Juju - Be About The Future
  9. Juju & The Space Ranger - Got To Be Right On It (original 45 version)
  10. Oneness Of Juju - Space Jungle Funk
  11. Oneness Of Juju - West Wind (previously unreleased)
  12. Juju & The Space Rangers - Plastic (original 45 version)
  13. Plunky & Oneness Of Juju - Every Way But Loose (original version)
  14. Okyerema Asante - Sabi (feat Plunky - Black Fire mix)
  15. Okyerema Asante - Asante Sana (feat Plunky)
  16. Oneness Of Juju - Bootsie's Lament (unreleased version)

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Strut present a comprehensive 3LP compilation of the seminal Oneness Of Juju, led by Plunky J. Branch.

Tracing their career from the band’s earliest work in 1970 with South African exiled jazzman Ndikho Xaba in San Francisco, the compilation covers the band’s journey to New York’s loft jazz scene, forming Juju and releasing two landmark albums of hard-hitting percussive jazz on Strata-East. “I saw myself as a cultural warrior,” explains Plunky. “We studied about Africa and tried to infuse our music with an African spirit.” Moving back to his hometown of Richmond, Virginia during the mid-‘70s, Plunky drew in a superb new group of musicians and vocalists and created the band’s new incarnation, Oneness Of Juju, retaining the African influence but fusing his sound with funk and R’n’B on the classic ‘African Rhythms’ album. “We realised that, if we put a backbeat to the Afro-Cuban rhythms, people in Richmond and Washington D.C. could be drawn into it; it didn't change anything about our message.” The change would lead to a series of enduring soul-jazz classics on Jimmy Gray’s Black Fire label, including ‘River Luv Rite’, ‘Plastic’ and ‘Don’t Give Up’ and their biggest crossover international hit, ‘Every Way But Loose’ in 1982, later famously remixed by Larry Levan. The band received renewed interest in their music during the mid-‘80s as Washington D.C.’s go-go innovators cited the band as a major influence and rare groove DJs revived their albums for London dancefloors.

‘African Rhythms 1970-1982’ reprises a compilation released on Strut in 2001 and is newly remastered by Frank Merritt at The Carvery. Both formats feature a 12” sized 4pp booklet featuring rare photos and a comprehensive interview with Plunky Branch within liner notes by Chris Menist.