Robin Jones Quintet


  • Label: Jazzroom Records
  • Catalogue number: JAZZR015
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Exotica, Instrumental, Jazz, Latin, Latin Jazz, Modern Jazz, Soul Jazz
  • Origin: United Kingdom



Side 1
1. "Denga" (3:16)
2. "Goodbye Batucada" (3:31)
3. "Urubu" (3:13)
4. "Autumn" (3:25)
5. "Con Feugo" (4:10)
6. "Zapatos Amarillos" (3:11)

Side 2
1. "Africa Revisted" (3:10)
2. "El Sueno" (3:16)
3. "Surfaticket" (3:04)
4. "My Summer Love" (2:58)
5. "Hop'N'Jump" (2:41)
6. "Tristeza" (3:15)
7. "Sucio Mambo" (2:33)

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Often affectionately referred to as the "Godfather of British Latin music" Robin Jones was truly one of the great performers on the international Latin scene.

Denga, his first recording from 1971 is a scintillating fusion of Afro-Cuban and Afro-Brazillian rhythms laden with heavy Fender Rhodes sounds and no less than three Afro-Latin Percussionists. The hard-to-find album has now been reissued by legendary London jazz DJ Paul Murphy's Jazz Room Records imprint. It should be an essential purchase for anyone who loves Latin jazz.

Feature's Robin's personal favorites including "Goodbye Batucada" which rightfully lays claim to be the first Brazilian Jazz Samba tune recorded in the UK and the Worldwide Sound standard setters "Denga" and "Africa Revisited".