Miss Sharon Jones!

Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings

Miss Sharon Jones!

  • Label: Daptone Records
  • Catalogue number: DAP043LP
  • Format: 2 x LP
  • Genres: Funk, Sister Funk, Soul, Soul Funk, Soundtrack
  • Origin: United States



Side 1
     1.    "Tell Me"
     2.    "Retreat"
     3.    "New Shoes"
     4.    "Longer & Stronger"
     5.    "If You Call"
Side 2
     1.    "100 Days, 100 Nights"
     2.    "People Don't Get What They Deserve"
     3.    "Humble Me"
     4.    "I'll Still Be True"
     5.    "When I Come Home"
Side 3
     1.    "Let Them Knock"
     2.    "Stranger To My Happiness"
     3.    "Keep On Looking"
     4.    "Mama Don't Like My Man"
     5.    "I Learned The Hard Way"
Side 4
     1.    "Slow Down Love"
     2.    "Genuine" (parts 1 & 2)
     3.    "I'm Still Here"
     4.    "His Eye Is On The Sparrow"

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


The recent passing of legendary soul singer Sharon Jones lends extra potency to Miss Sharon Jones, a recently released documentary movie chronicling her long, but ultimately unsuccessful battle with pancreatic cancer - a fight she fought whilst continuing to tour the World with her long-time backing band, the Dap Kings. This double-vinyl soundtrack album is as fitting tribute as any, given that it includes material recorded and released over the two decades she spent working with the Daptone Records family. There's also the heart aching, and previously unreleased, "His Eye On The Sparrow", which was recorded especially for the film in Jones' local church in Augusta, Georgia.

The film, directed by two-time Academy Award winner, Barbara Kopple, follows the dynamic front-woman through her 2013 battle with cancer and her triumphant return to the stage around the release of Give The People What They Want.

The soundtrack, featuring the exclusive "I'm Still Here", boasts a nice selection of tracks ranging from her early singles on Daptone, to tracks from the band's 2014 release - Give the People What They Want. Much like the film, the soundtrack gives you an intimate, candid look into the life of a woman who refuses to be defined by the challenges she faces. The perfect accompaniment to a truly extraordinary film.