Sounds Of Liberation

Sounds Of Liberation

Sounds Of Liberation

  • Label: Dogtown
  • Catalogue number: DGTWN03
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Funky Jazz, Instrumental, Jazz, Jazz Fusion, Modal Jazz, Spiritual Jazz
  • Origin: United States

Availability: Out of stock



  1. Happy Tuesday
  2. New Horizons II
  3. Billie One
  4. We'll Tell You Later
  5. New Horizons
  6. New Life

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Originally released in 1972 as 'New Horizons', Sounds Of Liberation's debut album has long been a sought-after item amongst fans of intoxicating space-age jazz. As this vinyl reissue proves, the set has lost none of its allure in the years that have passed since it was recorded. The album was the work of a seven-piece collective from the Germantown and Mount Airy neighbourhoods of Philadelphia who were every bit as politically active and socially conscious as many better known black jazz combos of the period. Musically the set bounces between upbeat, life-affirming excursions (see the vibraphone-laden dancefloor hustle of 'Billie One' and the superb 'New Horizons', where jazz guitar solos and vibraphone melodies rise above a bustling groove) and more experimental, far-out fare.