Spiritual Jazz Vol. 2: Europe

Various Artists

Spiritual Jazz Vol. 2: Europe

  • Label: Jazzman
  • Catalogue number: JMANLP046
  • Format: 2 x LP
  • Genres: Jazz, Spiritual Jazz
  • Origin: United Kingdom

Availability: In stock



  1. Rich Kleinschuster Sextett - "Communion"
  2. Albert Mangelsdorff Quintet - "Varie"
  3. Michael Garrick Sextet - "Temple Dancer" (Previously Unreleased)
  4. Raphael - "Archangelo"
  5. Barney Wilen - "Africa Freakout"
  6. Nicolai Gromin - "Corrida"
  7. Heikki Sarmanto - "Duke & Trane"
  8. Wroblewski Jazz Quintet - "Nana Imbroro"
  9. Dusko Goykovic - "Bosna Calling"
  10. Pedro Iturralde - "Las Morillas De Jaen"
  11. Hans Dulfer & Ritmo-Natural - "Candy Clouds" (part II)

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


In ‘60s Europe a distinctive, European jazz sound began to develop that combined traditional music from across Europe and around the world with the creative freedom so abundant in American jazz. Over time the most forward-thinking creative talents of the post-Coltrane European jazz generation crafted and nurtured sophisticated and multi-faceted styles of jazz that were as radical as they were beautiful, giving modern jazz a characteristically European flavour. This double LP is a heady mix of stirring jazz overtures with orchestra and choir, modal montages inspired by pilgrimages to Asia and Africa, experiments in rhythm and sound where modern jazz meets traditional Balkan and Flamenco folk music. This is Spiritual Jazz – European style.