Black Focus

Yussef Kamaal

Black Focus

  • Label: Brownswood
  • Catalogue number: BWOOD0157
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Instrumental, Jazz, Jazz Funk, Modal Jazz, Spiritual Jazz
  • Origin: United Kingdom



Side 1
1.    "Black Focus" (4:29)
2.    "Strings Of Light" (8:31)
3.    "Remembrance" (8:56)
Side 2
1.    "Yo Chavez" (3:59)
2.    "Ayla" (0:45)
3.    "OG" (0:47)
4.    "Lowrider" (4:26)
5.    "Mansur's Message" (2:08)
6.    "Wing Tai Drums" (1:18)
7.    "Joint 17" (8:10)

We Accept

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Brownswood Recordings has high hopes for this debut album from the previously unheralded Yussef Kamaal, which brings together hyped producer Kamaal Williams (AKA Henry Wu) and fast-rising Afrobeat drummer Yussef Dayes. With such talent to draw on, you'd expect Black Focus to be rather good. Happily, it is, with the duo delivering a typically London-centric take on jazz funk. That means that they take as much inspiration from the work of Kaidi Tatham as, say, Herbie Hancock. The key to the album's success - and, yes, it is generally as special as Gilles Peterson suggests - is the fluid combination of Dayes' brilliant drumming and Williams' superb synth solos and effortlessly groovy Rhodes playing.